Tuesday, May 14, 2013

The 1st trial run!

I was just too curious to wait...

So I have had the pedicab in my possession for just about 24 hours.  Today I researched more on the paperwork, forms and requirements I need to fulfill to be a legally operating pedicab business in the state.  I know what I need to do and I will be making sure I have all of that covered shortly BUT... today I just wanted to know what it was like to provide this service to the public.

Baseball has a new man in town...

The Red Sox came into town for a 3-game series starting this evening.  I decided to sneak out on the streets a bit to see if I could find someone who wanted to take advantage of my newfound service.  After tweaking with a squeaky disc brake issue, I hit the beat.  I rode a couple blocks from the Trop and decided it would be a good boundary to begin trying to pick up a fare.  I came up to a father/daughter who were adorned in Rays gear and just getting out of the car.  I shouted out "you guys want a ride to the front gate"?  The man was shocked at my outburst but was excited to say "Sure"!  I gave them a ride and we chit chatted about starting pitchers and how nice the weather was.  Minutes later we reach the gate entrance to the field.  They stepped off and thanked me, $5 tip for a couple minutes of work.  I DINGED my bell, thanked them and told them to enjoy the game.  THAT WAS IT!  Haha.  It was awesome.  My first sale... My first completed transaction as a pedicab operator and it was awesome.  I zipped about the town gave a couple more people offers for a ride but they declined.  

There's a process to this I have to figure out...

I can quickly tell there is strategy to this.  Between the immediate pitch, distance/area, time of day, and customer reactions; there are strategies to getting the customer to say YES.  I will play around with some ideas and different pitches along the way to see what works best.  Ok that's it.  Hope you enjoyed my first pedicab experience.  

MORE TO COME

No comments:

Post a Comment