I was just too curious to wait...
So I have had the pedicab in my possession for just about 24 hours. Today I researched more on the paperwork, forms and requirements I need to fulfill to be a legally operating pedicab business in the state. I know what I need to do and I will be making sure I have all of that covered shortly BUT... today I just wanted to know what it was like to provide this service to the public.
Baseball has a new man in town...
The Red Sox came into town for a 3-game series starting this evening. I decided to sneak out on the streets a bit to see if I could find someone who wanted to take advantage of my newfound service. After tweaking with a squeaky disc brake issue, I hit the beat. I rode a couple blocks from the Trop and decided it would be a good boundary to begin trying to pick up a fare. I came up to a father/daughter who were adorned in Rays gear and just getting out of the car. I shouted out "you guys want a ride to the front gate"? The man was shocked at my outburst but was excited to say "Sure"! I gave them a ride and we chit chatted about starting pitchers and how nice the weather was. Minutes later we reach the gate entrance to the field. They stepped off and thanked me, $5 tip for a couple minutes of work. I DINGED my bell, thanked them and told them to enjoy the game. THAT WAS IT! Haha. It was awesome. My first sale... My first completed transaction as a pedicab operator and it was awesome. I zipped about the town gave a couple more people offers for a ride but they declined.
There's a process to this I have to figure out...
I can quickly tell there is strategy to this. Between the immediate pitch, distance/area, time of day, and customer reactions; there are strategies to getting the customer to say YES. I will play around with some ideas and different pitches along the way to see what works best. Ok that's it. Hope you enjoyed my first pedicab experience.
MORE TO COME


